DOUGLAS COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL-CAH
708 8TH ST, ARMOUR, SD, 57313 · (605) 724-2159
CMS facility ID 431305
This hospital has no CMS overall rating
“Not rated” is not the same as zero stars, and it is not a judgement about quality.
A null overall rating means CMS did not rate this hospital — most often because too few cases were reported for a reliable score. It does not mean zero stars: the rating scale is 1 to 5 and has no zero. "Not rated" is not a judgement about quality.
CMS footnote for this hospital: 16
How this hospital compares, by group
Counts published by CMS: how many of its measures were better, no different, or worse than the national average.
| Group | Better | No different | Worse | Measures reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mortality | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Safety | — | — | — | — |
| Readmission | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
"Compared to National" labels are published by CMS itself. This site displays them as issued and does not derive or re-rank them.
Healthcare-associated infections
Infections patients acquired while in hospital. 36 measures.
| Measure | Compared to national | Score | 95% interval | Cases | Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (ICU + select Wards) | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (ICU + select Wards): Lower Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (ICU + select Wards): Number of Urinary Catheter Days | — | 68 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (ICU + select Wards): Observed Cases | — | 0 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (ICU + select Wards): Predicted Cases | — | 0.045 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (ICU + select Wards): Upper Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection (ICU + select Wards) | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection (ICU + select Wards): Lower Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection (ICU + select Wards): Observed Cases | — | 0 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection (ICU + select Wards): Predicted Cases | — | 0.017 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection (ICU + select Wards): Upper Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Central Line Associated Bloodstream Infection: Number of Device Days | — | 62 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Clostridium Difficile (C.Diff) | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Clostridium Difficile (C.Diff): Lower Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Clostridium Difficile (C.Diff): Observed Cases | — | 0 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Clostridium Difficile (C.Diff): Patient Days | — | 973 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Clostridium Difficile (C.Diff): Predicted Cases | — | 0.215 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Clostridium Difficile (C.Diff): Upper Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| MRSA Bacteremia | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| MRSA Bacteremia: Lower Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| MRSA Bacteremia: Observed Cases | — | 0 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| MRSA Bacteremia: Patient Days | — | 973 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| MRSA Bacteremia: Predicted Cases | — | 0.02 | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| MRSA Bacteremia: Upper Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Abdominal Hysterectomy | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Abdominal Hysterectomy: Lower Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Abdominal Hysterectomy: Number of Procedures | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Abdominal Hysterectomy: Observed Cases | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Abdominal Hysterectomy: Predicted Cases | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Abdominal Hysterectomy: Upper Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Colon Surgery | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Colon Surgery: Lower Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Colon Surgery: Number of Procedures | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Colon Surgery: Observed Cases | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Colon Surgery: Predicted Cases | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| SSI - Colon Surgery: Upper Confidence Limit | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
Complications and deaths
Rates of death and serious complications for common conditions, compared with the national average. 20 measures.
| Measure | Compared to national | Score | 95% interval | Cases | Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abdominopelvic accidental puncture or laceration rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| CMS Medicare PSI 90: Patient safety and adverse events composite | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Death rate among surgical inpatients with serious treatable complications | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Death rate for CABG surgery patients | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Death rate for COPD patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Death rate for heart attack patients | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Death rate for heart failure patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Death rate for pneumonia patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Death rate for stroke patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Hybrid Hospital-Wide All-Cause Risk Standardized Mortality Rate | No different from national | 4.9 | 3.5 – 6.7 | 48 | 2024-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Iatrogenic pneumothorax rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| In-hospital fall-associated fracture rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Perioperative pulmonary embolism or deep vein thrombosis rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Postoperative acute kidney injury requiring dialysis rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Postoperative hemorrhage or hematoma rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Postoperative respiratory failure rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Postoperative sepsis rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Postoperative wound dehiscence rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Pressure ulcer rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2024-06-30 |
| Rate of complications for hip/knee replacement patients | — | Not reported | — | — | 2023-04-01 → 2025-03-31 |
Medicare spending per beneficiary
What Medicare paid per patient, relative to the national average. This is a Medicare figure — not what a patient pays. 1 measures.
| Measure | Compared to national | Score | 95% interval | Cases | Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medicare hospital spending per patient (Medicare Spending per Beneficiary) | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
Timely and effective care
How quickly and reliably the hospital delivered recommended care. 30 measures.
| Measure | Compared to national | Score | 95% interval | Cases | Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anticoagulation Therapy for Atrial Fibrillation/FlutterElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Antithrombotic Therapy by End of Hospital Day 2Electronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Appropriate care for severe sepsis and septic shockSepsis Care | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Average (median) time all patients spent in the emergency department before leaving from the visit, including psychiatric/mental health patients and patients who were transferred to another facility. A lower number of minutes is betterEmergency Department | — | 122 | — | 280 | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Average (median) time patients spent in the emergency department before being transferred to another facility. A lower number of minutes is betterEmergency Department | — | 162 | — | 20 | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Average (median) time patients spent in the emergency department before leaving from the visit, excluding patients transferred to another facility or psychiatric care/mental health patients. A lower number of minutes is betterEmergency Department | — | 118 | — | 252 | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Average (median) time psychiatric/mental health patients spent in the emergency department before leaving from the visit. A lower number of minutes is betterEmergency Department | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Discharged on Antithrombotic TherapyElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Emergency department volumeEmergency Department | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Endoscopy/polyp surveillance: appropriate follow-up interval for normal colonoscopy in average risk patientsColonoscopy care | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Global Malnutrition Composite ScoreElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Global Malnutrition Composite Score: Malnutrition Diagnosis DocumentedElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Global Malnutrition Composite Score: Malnutrition Risk ScreeningElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Global Malnutrition Composite Score: Nutrition AssessmentElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Global Malnutrition Composite Score: Nutritional Care PlanElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Head CT resultsEmergency Department | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Healthcare workers given influenza vaccinationHealthcare Personnel Vaccination | — | 66 | — | 104 | 2024-10-01 → 2025-03-31 |
| Hospital Harm - Opioid Related Adverse EventsElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Hospital Harm - Severe HyperglycemiaElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Hospital Harm - Severe HypoglycemiaElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Improvement in Patient's Visual Function within 90 Days Following Cataract SurgeryCataract surgery outcome | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Intensive Care Unit Venous Thromboembolism ProphylaxisElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Left before being seenEmergency Department | — | 0 | — | 430 | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| ST-Segment Elevation Myocardial Infarction (STEMI)Electronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Safe Use of Opioids - Concurrent PrescribingElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Septic Shock 3-Hour BundleSepsis Care | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Septic Shock 6-Hour BundleSepsis Care | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Severe Sepsis 3-Hour BundleSepsis Care | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Severe Sepsis 6-Hour BundleSepsis Care | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30 |
| Venous Thromboembolism ProphylaxisElectronic Clinical Quality Measure | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
Unplanned hospital visits
How often patients came back to hospital unexpectedly after discharge. 14 measures.
| Measure | Compared to national | Score | 95% interval | Cases | Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acute Myocardial Infarction (AMI) 30-Day Readmission Rate | — | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Heart failure (HF) 30-Day Readmission Rate | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Hospital return days for heart attack patients | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Hospital return days for heart failure patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Hospital return days for pneumonia patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2022-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Hybrid Hospital-Wide All-Cause Readmission Measure (HWR) | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Pneumonia (PN) 30-Day Readmission Rate | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Rate of emergency department (ED) visits for patients receiving outpatient chemotherapy | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Rate of inpatient admissions for patients receiving outpatient chemotherapy | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Rate of readmission after hip/knee replacement | — | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Rate of readmission for CABG | — | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Rate of readmission for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) patients | Number of Cases Too Small | Not reported | — | — | 2023-07-01 → 2025-06-30 |
| Rate of unplanned hospital visits after colonoscopy (per 1,000 colonoscopies) | — | Not reported | — | — | 2022-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
| Ratio of unplanned hospital visits after hospital outpatient surgery | — | Not reported | — | — | 2024-01-01 → 2024-12-31 |
Score units differ between measures (rates, ratios, and Medicare dollars per beneficiary). Each measure is shown with its own name and reporting period; do not compare scores across measures.
Patient experience (HCAHPS)
Survey responses from patients, as published by CMS. Star ratings are 1–5; a blank means CMS withheld it.
Patients who reported that their room and bathroom were "Always" clean
Not rated| Room was "always" clean | 86% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their room and bathroom were "Sometimes" or "Never" clean
Not rated| Room was "sometimes" or "never" clean | 3% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their room and bathroom were "Usually" clean
Not rated| Room was "usually" clean | 11% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Cleanliness - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Cleanliness - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Always" communicated well
Not rated| Nurses "always" communicated well | 92% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Nurse communication - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Sometimes" or "Never" communicated well
Not rated| Nurses "sometimes" or "never" communicated well | 1% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Nurse communication - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Usually" communicated well
Not rated| Nurses "usually" communicated well | 7% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Always" communicated well
Not rated| Doctors "always" communicated well | 93% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Doctor communication - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Sometimes" or "Never" communicated well
Not rated| Doctors "sometimes" or "never" communicated well | 3% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Doctor communication - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Usually" communicated well
Not rated| Doctors "usually" communicated well | 4% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that staff "Always" explained about medicines before giving it to them
Not rated| Staff "always" explained | 84% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Communication about medicines - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that staff "Sometimes" or "Never" explained about medicines before giving it to them
Not rated| Staff "sometimes" or "never" explained | 5% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Communication about medicines - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that staff "Usually" explained about medicines before giving it to them
Not rated| Staff "usually" explained | 11% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Discharge information - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that NO, they were not given information about what to do during their recovery at home
Not rated| No, staff "did not" give patients this information | 16% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Discharge information - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that YES, they were given information about what to do during their recovery at home
Not rated| Yes, staff "did" give patients this information | 84% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that NO, they did not discuss whether they would need help after discharge
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that YES, they did discuss whether they would need help after discharge
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Always" explained things in a way they could understand
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Sometimes" or "Never" explained things in a way they could understand
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Usually" explained things in a way they could understand
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Always" listened carefully to them
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Sometimes" or "Never" listened carefully to them
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Usually" listened carefully to them
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Always" treated them with courtesy and respect
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Sometimes" or "Never" treated them with courtesy and respect
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their doctors "Usually" treated them with courtesy and respect
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who gave their hospital a rating of 6 or lower on a scale from 0 (lowest) to 10 (highest)
Not rated| Patients who gave a rating of "6" or lower (low) | 3% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who gave their hospital a rating of 7 or 8 on a scale from 0 (lowest) to 10 (highest)
Not rated| Patients who gave a rating of "7" or "8" (medium) | 9% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who gave their hospital a rating of 9 or 10 on a scale from 0 (lowest) to 10 (highest)
Not rated| Patients who gave a rating of "9" or "10" (high) | 88% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Overall hospital rating - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Overall hospital rating - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that when receiving new medication the staff "Always" communicated what the medication was for
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that when receiving new medication the staff "Sometimes" or "Never" communicated what the medication was for
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that when receiving new medication the staff "Usually" communicated what the medication was for.
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Always" explained things in a way they could understand
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Sometimes" or "Never" explained things in a way they could understand
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Usually" explained things in a way they could understand
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Always" listened carefully to them
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Sometimes" or "Never" listened carefully to them
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Usually" listened carefully to them
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Always" treated them with courtesy and respect
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Sometimes" or "Never" treated them with courtesy and respect
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that their nurses "Usually" treated them with courtesy and respect
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that the area around their room was "Always" quiet at night
Not rated| "Always" quiet at night | 77% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that the area around their room was "Sometimes" or "Never" quiet at night
Not rated| "Sometimes" or "never" quiet at night | 3% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that the area around their room was "Usually" quiet at night
Not rated| "Usually" quiet at night | 20% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Quietness - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Quietness - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported NO, they would probably not or definitely not recommend the hospital
Not rated| "NO", patients would not recommend the hospital (they probably would not or definitely would not recommend it) | 3% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported YES, they would definitely recommend the hospital
Not rated| "YES", patients would definitely recommend the hospital | 84% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Recommend hospital - linear mean score
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported YES, they would probably recommend the hospital
Not rated| "YES", patients would probably recommend the hospital | 13% |
|---|
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Recommend hospital - star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that when receiving new medication the staff "Always" discussed possible side effects
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that when receiving new medication the staff "Sometimes" or "Never" discussed possible side effects
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that when receiving new medication the staff "Usually" discussed possible side effects
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Summary star rating
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that NO, they did not receive written information about possible symptoms to look out for after discharge
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Patients who reported that YES, they did receive written information about possible symptoms to look out for after discharge
Not ratedNo answer breakdown reported.
36 completed surveys · response rate 47% · 2024-10-01 → 2025-09-30
Missing measures are not poor results
CMS suppresses a measure when too few cases were reported for the result to be reliable — common for smaller hospitals. A blank means not reported, which is different from a poor result. Hospitals with more blanks are not necessarily worse.
This is not medical advice
These are historical, aggregate measures about an institution. They do not describe the care any individual will receive, and they cannot account for your condition.
Talk to a clinician about your own care. In an emergency, call your local emergency number.
Other Critical Access Hospitals in SD
- AVERA DE SMET MEMORIAL HOSPITAL - CAHNot rated
- AVERA DELLS AREA HOSPITAL - CAHNot rated
- AVERA FLANDREAU HOSPITAL - CAHNot rated
- AVERA GREGORY HOSPITALNot rated
- AVERA HAND COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AND CLINICNot rated
- AVERA MISSOURI RIVER HEALTH CENTERNot rated
- AVERA QUEEN OF PEACE4/5
- AVERA ST BENEDICT HEALTH CENTER - CAH5/5
- AVERA WESKOTA MEMORIAL MEDICAL CENTER - CAHNot rated
- BENNETT COUNTY HOSPITAL AND NURSING HOME - CAHNot rated
- BOWDLE HOSPITAL - CAHNot rated
- COMMUNITY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL4/5
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Provider Data Catalog (data updated 2026-07-22) — https://data.cms.gov/provider-data/ · Data last updated 2026-09-27